After Yeats: four realisations by Merit Stephanos

Activity: Talk or presentationPerformance


_After Yeats_ describes a collaboration between a performer, who declaims a Yeats poem in translation, self-accompanied by a plucked string instrument, and a composer, who works at a remove to observe and amplify the implications of the declamation. The conception is by William Brooks; Merit Stephanos performed four realisations, accompanying herself on the oud; these were composed, respectively, by Jason Emberton, Alcyona Mick, Nehad el Sayed, and Merit Ariane Stephanos. The performance was preceded by a brief introduction given by William Brooks.
Period4 Jul 2015
Event titleYeats off the Page: Words for Music Perhaps
Event typeConference
LocationYork, United KingdomShow on map


  • William Butler Yeats
  • Composition
  • Chanting
  • Music
  • Translation
  • Text-setting