After Yeats: four realisations by Merit Stephanos

Activity: Talk or presentationPerformance

William Brooks - Invited speaker

_After Yeats_ describes a collaboration between a performer, who declaims a Yeats poem in translation, self-accompanied by a plucked string instrument, and a composer, who works at a remove to observe and amplify the implications of the declamation. The conception is by William Brooks; Merit Stephanos performed four realisations, accompanying herself on the oud; these were composed, respectively, by Jason Emberton, Alcyona Mick, Nehad el Sayed, and Merit Ariane Stephanos. The performance was preceded by a brief introduction given by William Brooks.
8 Jul 2015

Event (Conference)

TitleOn and off the page
LocationOrpheus Institute
Degree of recognitionInternational event


  • William Butler Yeats, composition, Chanting, Music, Translation, Text-setting


Discover related content

Find related publications, people, projects, datasets and more using interactive charts.

View graph of relations