A century of monetary reform in South-East Europe: From political autonomy to the gold standard, 1815-1910

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review


We document and analyse monetary reform in Bulgaria, Greece, Serbia and Romania from 1815 (Serbian autonomy within the Ottoman Empire) to 1910, when Greece became the last country in the region to join the gold standard. We explain five key steps of monetary reform which the four countries passed in the same chronological order, and ask why national coinage and the foundation of a bank of note issue came late in the reform process. The South-East European countries tried to emulate West European prototypes, yet economic backwardness meant such institutions were often different from the onset, remained short-lived or both.
Original languageEnglish
Article number1
Pages (from-to)3-21
Number of pages19
JournalFinancial History Review
Issue number1
Publication statusPublished - 1 Apr 2017

Bibliographical note

© European Association for Banking and Financial History e.V 2017. This is an author-produced version of the published paper. Uploaded in accordance with the publisher’s self-archiving policy. Further copying may not be permitted; contact the publisher for details


  • gold standard, central banks, South-East Europe

Cite this