Analog B(M1) strengths in the Tz=± 32 mirror nuclei Mn 47 and Ti 47

S. Uthayakumaar, M. A. Bentley, R. Yajzey, D. Bazin, J. Belarge, P. C. Bender, P. J. Davies, B. Elman, A. Gade, T. Haylett, H. Iwasaki, D. Kahl, N. Kobayashi, B. Longfellow, S. J. Lonsdale, E. Lunderberg, L. Morris, D. R. Napoli, X. Pereira-Lopez, F. RecchiaE. C. Simpson, R. Wadsworth, D. Weisshaar

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review


The lifetimes of the first excited 72- states in the Tz=±32 mirror nuclei Mn47 and Ti47 have been extracted utilizing the γ-ray line shape method, giving τ=687(36) ps and τ=331(15) ps respectively. Since these transitions are essentially pure M1 transitions, these results allow for a high-precision comparison of analog M1 strengths in mirror nuclei. The two analog B(M1)s are observed to be identical to a precision of about 10%. The expected dependence of the transition matrix element with Tz has been used to extract the separate isoscalar and isovector components of the transition strength, and the results are discussed in the context of predictions, based on the isospin formalism, regarding analog B(M1) strengths.

Original languageEnglish
Article number044307
Number of pages8
JournalPhysical Review C
Issue number4
Publication statusPublished - 4 Apr 2024

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
S.U., T.H., and S.-J.L. acknowledge studentship support from the UKRI Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC). This work is supported by STFC under Grants No. ST/L005727/1, No. ST/P003885/1, and No. ST/V001108/1. R.Y. acknowledges financial support from Jazan University, Saudi Arabia. The work was supported by the National Science Foundation (NSF) under Grant No. PHY-1565546 and by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), Office of Science, Office of Nuclear Physics under Grant No. DE-SC0023633 (MSU). GRETINA was funded by the DOE, Office of Science. Operation of the array at NSCL was supported by the DOE under Grants No. DE-SC0014537 (NSCL) and No. DE-AC02-05CH11231(LBNL).

Publisher Copyright:
© 2024 authors. Published by the American Physical Society. Published by the American Physical Society under the terms of the ""Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license. Further distribution of this work must maintain attribution to the author(s) and the published article's title, journal citation, and DOI.

Cite this