Charles E. Ives: Symphony No. 4

William Brooks (Editor), James Sinclair (Editor), Kenneth Singleton (Editor), Wayne Shirley (Editor)

Research output: Book/ReportScholarly edition


Charles Ives is arguably America’s greatest composer, and the Symphony No. 4 is considered by many to be his greatest work. Conceived and drafted in the 1910s, it was completed early in the next decade. Two movements were played in 1927, but the work was not heard in its entirely until 1965. The edition for that 1965 performance was done hastily and published as photocopies of the editors manuscript; despite their diligent work, the score has been notoriously unreadable and is littered with errors.

The new edition, commissioned and approved by the Charles Ives Society, is both a scholarly study (with nearly 200 pages of notes and commentary) and a practical performing score. Additional materials will be provided on the Ives Society website. The first performances of this critical edition will be given in 2012; thereafter it will be universally used for decades to come.
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationMilwaukee, Wisconsin
PublisherAssociated Music Publishers, Inc
Number of pages214
ISBN (Print)978-1-4584-1848-7
Publication statusPublished - 31 Dec 2011

Cite this