Charles E. Ives: Symphony No. 4

Research output: Book/ReportScholarly edition


  • William Brooks (Editor)
  • James Sinclair (Editor)
  • Kenneth Singleton (Editor)
  • Wayne Shirley (Editor)


Publication details

DatePublished - 31 Dec 2011
Number of pages214
PublisherAssociated Music Publishers, Inc
Place of PublicationMilwaukee, Wisconsin
Original languageEnglish
ISBN (Print)978-1-4584-1848-7


Charles Ives is arguably America’s greatest composer, and the Symphony No. 4 is considered by many to be his greatest work. Conceived and drafted in the 1910s, it was completed early in the next decade. Two movements were played in 1927, but the work was not heard in its entirely until 1965. The edition for that 1965 performance was done hastily and published as photocopies of the editors manuscript; despite their diligent work, the score has been notoriously unreadable and is littered with errors.

The new edition, commissioned and approved by the Charles Ives Society, is both a scholarly study (with nearly 200 pages of notes and commentary) and a practical performing score. Additional materials will be provided on the Ives Society website. The first performances of this critical edition will be given in 2012; thereafter it will be universally used for decades to come.


Discover related content

Find related publications, people, projects, datasets and more using interactive charts.

View graph of relations