Coulomb excitation of and a change in structure approaching N = Z = 40

S. A. Gillespie, J. Henderson, K. Abrahams, F. A. Ali, L. Atar, G. C. Ball, N. Bernier, S. S. Bhattcharjee, R. Caballero-Folch, M. Bowry, A. Chester, R. Coleman, T. Drake, E. Dunling, A. B. Garnsworthy, B. Greaves, G. F. Grinyer, G. Hackman, E. Kasanda, R. LaFleurS. Masango, D. Muecher, C. Ngwetsheni, S. S. Ntshangase, B. Olaizola, J. N. Orce, T. Rockman, Y. Saito, L. Sexton, P. Šiurytė, J. Smallcombe, J. K. Smith, C. E. Svensson, E. Timakova, R. Wadsworth, J. Williams, M. S.C. Winokan, C. Y. Wu, T. Zidar

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review


Background: Nuclei approaching are known to exhibit strongly deformed structures and are thought to be candidates for shape coexistence. In the krypton isotopes, are poorly characterized, preventing an understanding of evolving deformation approaching .

Purpose: The present work aims to determine electric quadrupole transition strengths and quadrupole moments of in order to better characterize their deformation.

Conclusions: Comparison of measured and values indicates that neutron-deficient () isotopes of krypton are closer to axial deformation than other isotopic chains in the mass region. A continuation of this trend to higher may result in Sr and Zr isotopes exhibiting near-axial prolate deformation.

Methods: Sub-barrier Coulomb excitation was employed, impinging the isotopes of krypton on and targets. Utilizing a semiclassical description of the safe Coulomb-excitation process matrix elements could then be determined.

Results: Eleven new or improved matrix elements are determined in and seven in . The new value in disagrees with the evaluated value by , which can be explained in terms of deficiencies in a previous Coulomb-excitation analysis.

Original languageEnglish
Article number044313
JournalPhysical Review C
Issue number4
Publication statusPublished - 12 Oct 2021

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada Canada Foundation for Innovation British Columbia Knowledge Development Fund National Research Council Canada Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory University of Surrey UKRI Future Leaders Fellowship University of York Science and Technology Facilities Council

Funding Information:
The authors would like to thank the TRIUMF beam delivery group for their efforts in providing high-quality beams. This work has been supported by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), The Canada Foundation for Innovation and the British Columbia Knowledge Development Fund. TRIUMF receives federal funding via a contribution agreement through the National Research Council of Canada. Work at LLNL was performed under contract no. DE-AC52-07NA27344. Work by J.H. at the University of Surrey was supported under UKRI Future Leaders Fellowship Grant no. MR/T022264/1. Work at the University of York was supported under STFC grants no. ST/L005727/1 and ST/P003885/1.

Publisher Copyright:
©2021 American Physical Society

Cite this