Mr Jonathan Morton, His Ground: for string orchestra

Research output: Non-textual formComposition


Second in a series of short 'postcards', commissioned by the Scottish Ensemble.

[programme note]

At their concert in the Caird Hall in October, the Scottish Ensemble processed
on stage playing Pachelbel’s canon, gathering players from the local amateur
and youth orchestras as they went until the performing area was filled to
bursting. Being in the midst of this body of sound as it passed through the
hall – first behind, then around, then in front of you – was a powerful and
moving experience. And it is where the idea for this postcard began.

Where the violin leads, the others follow. Polyphony ensues, eventually
arriving at rich, gleaming, microtonal chords covering all registers.
Throughout the whole piece a simple melodic phrase loops over and again.
Original languageEnglish
PublisherFaber Music Ltd.
Media of outputScore
Publication statusPublished - 2012
EventScottish Ensemble Performance - Inverness, United Kingdom
Duration: 7 Dec 2012 → …

Bibliographical note

Commissioned by Scottish Ensemble as one of a series of 'postcards' for their 2012-13 season.

7 Violins
2 Violas
2 Cellos
Double Bass

3 December, Caird Hall, Dundee
4 December, Oran Mor, Glasgow
5 December, Greyfriars Kirk, Edinburgh
6 December, St John's Church, Perth
7 December, Inverness Cathedral

Cite this